Thursday, September 9, 2010

Bethany Conservation Commission

August 5, 2010

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Ken Martin at 7:30pm. Also in attendance were members Audrey Eisenstadt and Bruce Loomis.

Attending the meeting as a guest was First Selectwoman Derrylyn Gorski. Derry was present because this was Ken’s last meeting before relocating out of state. Derry presented Ken with a framed proclamation declaring August 5, 2010 to be “Kenneth W. Martin Day” in Bethany. The proclamation outlined some of Ken’s contributions to the town including his 21 years on the Conservation Commission (16 years as Chairman) and his work in establishing a GIS system for the town.

There were no minutes available from the last meeting to be read and reviewed.

Ken presented a thank you note from Mackenzie Swain who was one of the Community School recipients of the annual Conservation Award.

Ken also presented the July 26 Inland Wetlands minutes for informational purposes. He also briefly touched on the status of an ongoing potential open space acquisition.

This meeting being Ken’s last, some time was spent with Ken going over with other commission members some papers he brought in from his files at home, which were then put into the commissions file closet.

Audrey moved that Bruce should be “acting chairman” until a vote can be taken by the full commission on a successor to Ken. Ken seconded and the motion passed.

Ken moved to adjourn and Audrey seconded. The motion passed and the meeting adjourned at 8:55pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Bruce Loomis
Secretary Pro-tempore