Tuesday, August 25, 2009

AUAUST 24, 2009
Page 1 of 2

Attendance: First Selectwoman Derrylyn Gorski, Selectman Donald Shea, Selectman Steven Thornquist
Visitors: Attorney Kevin McSherry, Ben Haag
First Selectwoman Gorski called the meeting to order at 7:40 p.m. The meeting was held in the Conference Room of the Bethany Town Hall. The first order of business was check signing. First Selectwoman Gorski asked all to rise for the Pledge of Allegiance.

Selectman Thornquist moved to refund to Alan Zibluk the sum of $46.06, to Ann Klatskin the sum of $52.20, to B. Mucherino Plavnicky the sum of $7.13, to Clifford Rosson the sum of $31.78, to Carol Paugus the sum of $9.77, to Connecticut Sheet Metal the sum of $3.00, to Cora Fonda the sum of $50.27, to David Tressel the sum oif $36.13, to DCFS Trust the sum of $405.94, to Dennis Colwell the sum of $8.13, to Dhanapala Nagarathnam the sum of $59.67, to Earl Sanford the sum of $9.45, to Elaine Skoronski the sum of $100.00, to Eleanor Beckert the sum of $91.93, to Elizabeth O’Neal the sum of $14.69, to Financial Services VEH Trust the sum of $375.56, to Gary Schulman the sum of $15.74, to GMAC the sum of $79.03, to Harold Lineweber the sum of $221.13, to Honda Lease Trust the sum of $176.77, to Hui Li the sum of $10.72, to James Monarchio the sum of $21.87, to Joan Dixon the sum of $16.55, to John Schurman the sum of $107.06, to Keith Rapaport the sum of $22.19, to Kellie Scott the sum of $50.46, to Kevin Graham the sum of $22.33, to Marilyn Gambardella the sum of $1,895, to Mary Robinson the sum of $49.14, to Megastar Trading the sum of $40.90, to Michael or Janet Enson the sum of $27.40, to Nicholas Poulmas the sum of $19.63, to Petruzzello Transport the sum of $19.72, to Raymond Horn the sum of $22.33, to Ronald Plavnicky the sum of $6.80, to Sal Amadeo the sum of $3.02, to Sandra McSherry the sum of $30.83, to Zhinan Yin the sum of $22.22, to Konica Copier the sum of $498.76, and to Konica Copier the sum of $106.69 all for overpayment of taxes. Selectman Shea seconded the motion.

Craig and Debra Molsick have requested a tax deferral for the first installment of the 2008 Grand List real estate taxes on their vacant land at 221 Bear Hill Road and 73 Hopp Brook Road. The Molsicks’ assessment increased 36.4% for one parcel and 176.3% for the other. In his letter to the Board of Selectmen David Foreman requested that “while I would not normally consider a tax increase due to revaluation as being the type of unusual financial circumstance referred to in state statute 12-174, in this case I believe it does apply,” therefore he is recommending that the Board of Selectmen grant a deferred collection on the July installment for the two parcels. Following discussion Selectman Thornquist moved to accept the recommendation of David Forman for tax deferral of the property at 221 Bear Hill Road and 73 Hopp Brook Road owned by Craig and Debra Molsick. Selectman Shea seconded the motion. The vote taken was unanimous.

Modification was needed for the Connecticut State Library and Historic Documents Preservation Grant passed at the previous meeting. Selectman Thornquist moved the following resolution:

RESOLVED: That Derrylyn Gorski, First Selectwoman for the Town of Bethany is empowered to execute and deliver in the name and on behalf of this municipality a contract with the Connecticut State Library for an Historic Documents Preservation Grant.

Selectman Shea seconded the resolution. The vote taken was unanimous.

Correspondence was received from Frank and Bernice Mozealous regarding drainage on the corner of Carmel and Brooks Road. The Highway Department has addressed some of the issues and will work with the Mozealous’ to complete the corrections.

First Selectwoman Gorski attended the public hearing held in Hartford regarding changes to the Probate Court system, where she testified on the issues regarding the proposed changes. If the recently passed statute were to be modified Bethany could establish with Woodbridge and Orange an Amity court.

Adjournment was called at 8:00 p.m. after a motion was moved by Selectman Thornquist and seconded by Selectman Shea. The vote taken was unanimous.

Respectfully submitted,

June G. Riley
Secretary, Board of Selectmen